Superman! My Hero…

He has always been my true hero! As a child, reading comic books was my thing. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t a book worm but I loved comics. My mother used to take me along to make social calls on our relatives and I religiously carried my comics with me.

We would get to their place and as she went about chatting and gossiping with family and friends, I buried by nose in the pages of fantasy. Superman had it all, a strong moral compass, the ability to do the right thing when faced with the most difficult choices.

He never lied, he never killed another, no matter how vile a villain the other was. He always found a way to thwart the wrong with a resounding right. I wanted his super powers so bad. But somewhere inside me I knew that those I couldn’t have.

For one I knew I wasn’t an alien. So I went about building my moral compass to match his. I try to see the good in people. I try my best not to judge others. I do not like crooks and corruption and try to stay true to myself. At the end of the day I feel one has one’s own conscience to answer to.

There have been moments when I have fallen short of my own expectations; at those times I haven’t felt so super. Luckily for me, I am answerable to myself for those lapses and not to the justice system!

Thanks to Superman, and now that I am older, thanks to the creators of Superman I have had a good role model to grow up with.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Superman! My Hero…

  1. Pingback: The hero-less five year old | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: 9/11 Heroes | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

